GAME NIGHT

A married couple’s weekly game night goes to the next level when the husband’s brother books a murder mystery party complete with actors as criminals and cops. When the brother is kidnapped which is supposed to part of the game, the weekly gamers set out to solve the case but soon learn that things are not as they appear to be. The gamers soon find themselves in for a night of utter excitement that they never anticipated.

Related image
Indeed it will be .

The movie stars Rachael McAdams and Jason Bateman in the lead roles and the movie starts with the back story of how they met and then went on to marry each other . Initially , I thought that this was a romantic movie with a hint of comedy , and that  it would suck just like most of the other romcoms . But , no it didn’t . It’s pretty  nice actually .

Annie: [as Annie is playing with a fake gun, she quotes Pulp Fiction] Any of you fucking pricks move, I’m gonna execute every motherfucking last one of you!

The best part about this movie is the cast , just how easy everyone fits . It seems natural like they aren’t in a movie but they are playing the whole game in real life . The acting is just amazing . Jason Bateman and Rachael McAdams have such a great chemistry and honestly , everything seems flawless and natural .

Image result for game night gif

The script is also amazing . It is quick , it is sharp and to top that off , the direction is amazing too . Sometimes , the story is good put the director fails to put it together . But Game Night has a good story and it has been put together very well . It is like a well built German car , built to last . And , I also think that the story is ageless . That even the generations after ours will love this movie .

Brooks: I’m a fraud, Max. I’m not the carefree dude that wins at everything he touches. You know how I win? I cheat. I cheat at everything. I even cheated when we were kids playing Battleship.

Max: What?

Brooks: Didn’t you ever wonder why I made you sit with your back to the TV? It was so I could see your ships in the reflection. I mean, I even took five grand every time we played Monopoly, before we even started playing the game. I cheated at the game of life. And at The Game of Life.

Cinematography too is amazing , whenever there is a change in location , and the aerial shot is there , you feel like you are flying over a board game . IT IS AMAZING . There is nothing too crazy , it simple , plain and subtle . Even the actions are nice and realistic . The car chase is nice , not at par with James Bond / Mission Impossible level but it does the trick .

SHOULD YOU WATCH IT : DEFINITELY .

MY RATING : 85/100

TBH : JUST WATCH IT .

Game Night (2018) on IMDb

Leave a comment